2014 Three Minute Thesis (3MT) Competition

Congratulations to our 2014 Three Minute Thesis winners (L-R): People's Choice winner Grace Aaraj (master's, Architecture), First Place winner Win McLaughlin (doctoral, Geological Sciences), and Runner-Up Ruth Siboni (doctoral, Biology).

Click below to watch the winners' presentations:

2014 First Place: Win McLaughlin, Geological Sciences

2014 Runner-Up: Ruth Siboni, Biology

2014 People's Choice: Grace Aaraj, Architecture

About the Statewide Competition

The Three Minute Thesis (3MT) Statewide Finals took place this Saturday, May 17 from 3:00 - 5:00 pm at Portland State University's Hoffman Hall. Grace, Win, and Ruth represented UO against the top three presenters from Oregon State University, Oregon Health Science University, and Portland State University.

UO students took home two of the three prizes. Ruth Siboni (biology) was awarded the "Runner Up" and awarded $500, while Grace Aaraj (architecture) won the "People's Choice" award of $500. First place went to Oregon Health Science University's Andrew Fowler (computer science).

While many US institutions now hold 3MT competitions, Oregon is the first US state to hold a statewide championship event.

UO Finalists

Congratulations to all of our other finalists for their excellent presentations and  making the decision tough on our judges:

  • Evan Baker (doctoral, Geological Sciences)

  • Crystal Brown (doctoral, Political Science)

  • Dimitra Cupo (doctoral, Sociology)

  • Sarah Hwang (master’s, Art History)

  • Brett Israels (doctoral, Chemistry)

  • Rick Montgomery (doctoral, Physics)

  • Alan Reynolds (doctoral, Philosophy)



Copyright © 2011-2018 University of Oregon. All rights Reserved. Eugene Oregon 97403.

UO prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, sex, national or ethnic origin, age, religion, marital status, disability, veteran status, sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expression in all programs, activities and employment practices as required by Title IX, other applicable laws, and policies. Retaliation is prohibited by UO policy. Questions may be referred to the Title IX Coordinator, Office of Affirmative Action and Equal Opportunity, or to the Office for Civil Rights. Contact information, related policies, and complaint procedures are listed on the statement of non-discrimination.