Graduate Council

2018-19 Meeting Dates

Meeting Date:                                                                                                                               

Deadline to receive college-approved proposals for new programs or other curriculum changes:

October 24, 2018

October 10

November 28, 2018

November 14

(No December meeting)


January 23, 2019

January 9

February 20, 2019

February 6

March 20, 2019

March 6

April 17, 2019

April 3

May 15, 2019

May 1


The Graduate Council advises the Dean of the Graduate School on matters pertaining to graduate study at the University of Oregon.  The Council establishes policies and regulations governing graduate study at the University of Oregon, excluding those matters requiring approval by the Chancellor or the Oregon University System (OUS).  In addition to its advisory role, the Graduate Council is responsible for the following:
  • providing rules and procedures for the effective administration and application of faculty policies and regulations
  • recommending changes in, or additions to, the policies and major regulations of the Graduate School
  • providing for the maintenance of high standards of graduate instruction
  • considering all proposals for changes in courses carrying graduate credit and to present its recommendations to the Committee on Courses
  • participating in decennial Program Review

Membership and Reporting

Membership of the Graduate Council is fixed at 14 voting members, consisting of 12 elected teaching faculty at the rank of assistant professor or above and 2 students plus the Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School (ex-officio, non-voting).  Of the 12 teaching faculty, 6 shall be from the College of Arts and Sciences representing the Humanities (2), the Social Sciences (2), and the Natural Sciences (2), but no two shall be from the same CAS department; 1 from each of the professional schools/colleges which include the College of Design, the Lundquist College of Business, the College of Education, the School of Journalism and Communication, the School of Music, and 1 representative from the UO Law School.

The elected faculty members of the Graduate Council come from departments that have graduate major programs leading to the graduate degree and are conducted under the jurisdiction of the Graduate School.  One student must be from a program leading to a master's degree and one must be from a graduate program leading to a doctoral degree.  Faculty members are elected for 3-year terms.  The Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School are empowered to appoint other ex-officio, non-voting members to represent important constituencies of graduate students and faculty as needed.

The Graduate Council reports to the University Senate.

Members of the 2018-19 Graduate Council




Lara Bovilsky

Associate Professor, English


Sierra Dawson

Assistant Vice Provost, Academic Affairs

Ex Officio

Erik Girvan

Assistant Professor, Law School


Burke Hendrix

Associate Professor, Political Science


Elim Hernandez Santos

PhD Student, School of Journalism and Communication


Andy Karduna

Associate Dean, Graduate School

Ex Officio

Alison Kwok

Professor, Architecture


Seth Lewis

Associate Professor, School of Journalism & Communication


Celeste Mena Morales

Master’s Student, College of Education


Fabienne Moore

Associate Professor, French


Jeremy Piger

Professor, Economics


Nicholas Proudfoot

Associate Professor, Mathematics


Jana Prikryl

Senior Instructor, Biology 

Ex Officio

Phil Scher

Div Dean Social Sciences

Ex Officio

Leslie Straka

Associate Dean, Music


Hailin Wang          

Professor, Physics


Mark Watson

Librarian, Collections & Access

Ex Officio

Angie Whalen

Clinical Associate Professor, College of Education        


Janet Woodruff-Borden

Vice Provost and Dean, Graduate School

Ex Officio

Hong Yuan

Associate Professor, Lundquist College of Business


Meeting Minutes

2018-19 Meeting Minutes


2017-18 Meeting Minutes


2016-17 Meeting Minutes


2015-16 Meeting Minutes


2014-15 Meeting Minutes


2013-14 Meeting Minutes


2012-13 Meeting Minutes

Minutes from previous years are archived and available in the Graduate School.  Please contact us for more information.

Copyright © 2011-2019 University of Oregon. All rights Reserved. Eugene Oregon 97403.

UO prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, sex, national or ethnic origin, age, religion, marital status, disability, veteran status, sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expression in all programs, activities and employment practices as required by Title IX, other applicable laws, and policies. Retaliation is prohibited by UO policy. Questions may be referred to the Title IX Coordinator, Office of Affirmative Action and Equal Opportunity, or to the Office for Civil Rights. Contact information, related policies, and complaint procedures are listed on the statement of non-discrimination.