Five Students Advance to Three Minute Thesis Finals on May 7


The first preliminary round of the Three Minute Thesis competition was held on Wednesday, April 16 in Lawrence 177. Eleven student competitors presented their research in three minutes or less for a chance to advance to the UO finals on May 7.

The Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) is an academic competition developed by the University of Queensland (UQ), Australia, for research students.  The exercise develops academic, presentation, and research communication skills and supports the development of graduate students' capacity to effectively explain their research in three minutes in a language appropriate to an intelligent but non-specialist audience.

The five competitors advancing to the final round on May 7 include (pictured L-R) Brett Israels (Chemistry), Crystal Brown (Political Science), Ruth Siboni (Biology), Win McLaughlin (Geological Sciences), and Dimitra Cupo (Sociology).

The other five finalists will be chosen from the second preliminary round at 6:30pm on Wednesday, April 23 in Lawrence 177. Of the ten UO finalists, three will then be selected to represent UO at the Statewide Finals at Portland State University on May 17. In addition to the UO, the Statewide Finals will include students from Oregon State University, Oregon Health Sciences University, and Portland State University.


Copyright © 2011-2018 University of Oregon. All rights Reserved. Eugene Oregon 97403.

UO prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, sex, national or ethnic origin, age, religion, marital status, disability, veteran status, sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expression in all programs, activities and employment practices as required by Title IX, other applicable laws, and policies. Retaliation is prohibited by UO policy. Questions may be referred to the Title IX Coordinator, Office of Affirmative Action and Equal Opportunity, or to the Office for Civil Rights. Contact information, related policies, and complaint procedures are listed on the statement of non-discrimination.