Andy Berglund to Join the Graduate School Staff

We are pleased to welcome Andy Berglund, associate professor of chemistry, as interim associate dean of the Graduate School. Dr. Berglund will join our team on July 24. He succeeds Dr. Mia Tuan who was recently appointed acting dean of the College of Education.

A member of the Institute for Molecular Biology, Dr. Berglund’s research interests focus on biochemistry, biophysics and molecular biology. He joined the UO in 2002 after post-doctoral work at the University of Colorado.  He is recipient of the prestigious Burroughs Wellcome Fund Fellowship in the Life Sciences and the Basil O’Connor Scholarship. He has been a member of the Department of Chemistry's graduate recruiting committee since 2004 (chair of the committee since 2010) and has served as Chemistry's director of graduate studies for the past three years. In 2012 he co-led the development of a new  track in the Biology master’s program for bioinformatics which combines coursework at the UO with internships in industry, academics and government. Commenting on the appointment, Kimberly Andrews Espy, dean of the Graduate School and vice president for Research and Innovation, said, “The Graduate School team is thrilled to have Andy join us in promoting graduate education excellence, innovation and inclusion.  He brings valuable experience working with graduate students, connecting to outside partners to drive innovative approaches to graduate study, and abundant enthusiasm for enhancing the graduate student experience.”


Copyright © 2011-2018 University of Oregon. All rights Reserved. Eugene Oregon 97403.

UO prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, sex, national or ethnic origin, age, religion, marital status, disability, veteran status, sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expression in all programs, activities and employment practices as required by Title IX, other applicable laws, and policies. Retaliation is prohibited by UO policy. Questions may be referred to the Title IX Coordinator, Office of Affirmative Action and Equal Opportunity, or to the Office for Civil Rights. Contact information, related policies, and complaint procedures are listed on the statement of non-discrimination.