2013-14 Graduate School Honorees

Promising Scholars

The University of Oregon Graduate School administers more than a dozen non-service fellowships and awards annually, resulting in the support of over 60 students for the 2013-14 academic year. These awards, most of which are donor or foundation supported, include non-service stipends ranging from $500 to $18,000 per year and, in some cases, tuition support. We are pleased to honor this year’s fellowship and award recipients.

Betty Foster McCue Scholarship for Human Development and Performance

  • Lindsey Brown, Counseling Psychology
  • Erin Darlington, Counseling Psychology
  • Naomi Knoble, Counseling Psychology
  • On-Yee Lo, Human Physiology

Dan Kimble First Year Teaching Award

  • Andres Guzman, Sociology
  • Alison Lau, English

Donald and Darel Stein Graduate Teaching Award

  • Tyler Kloefkorn, Mathematics
  • Yvonne Toepfer, Comparative Literature

Gary Smith Summer Professional Development Award

  • Holly Arnold, Biology
  • Angelita Chavez, Political Science
  • Zhou Chen, Psychology
  • Fulden Ibrahimhakkioglu, Philosophy
  • Lauren Joiner, Music
  • Nicole Lawless, Psychology
  • Rose Maier, Psychology
  • Sandra Mefoude Obiono, Romance Languages
  • Paul Olejarczuk, Linguistics
  • Annissa Olsen, Music

Iain More Stellar Scholar Award

  • Sylvia Shaykis, Counseling Psychology

International Scholar Award

  • Ritendra Magar, International Studies
  • Pooria Manoochehri, Arts Management
  • Eduardo Martins Moreira, Music

Margaret McBride Lehrman Fellowship

  • Blessing Abbah, Conflict and Dispute Resolution and Public Administration
  • Zanne Miller, Couples and Family Therapy
  • Maria Thomas, Creative Writing

Margaret Weise Award

  • Chithira Vijayakumar, Environmental Studies

Promising Scholar Award

  • Quinn Akina, History
  • Maria Aldana-Rogers, Romance Languages
  • Jared Ambrose, Couples and Family Therapy
  • Derrick Bines, Counseling Psychology
  • Daryn Blanc-Goldhammer, Psychology
  • Alejandra Cebreros, International Studies
  • Rucha Chandvankar, Anthropology
  • Timothy Chen, Environmental Studies
  • Davita-Christine Flowers-Shanklin, Environmental Studies
  • Bianca Fontes, Education Studies
  • Brantly Fulton, Chemistry
  • Patrick Greiner, Sociology
  • Stephanie Kramer, Psychology
  • Meredith Lancaster, Art History
  • Ulysses Loken, Music
  • Daniel P. Lopez, Art
  • Nathan Mathabane, Geological Sciences
  • Gabriella McDaniel, Environmental Studies
  • Alyssa Ogi, Creative Writing
  • Evelyn Perdomo, Community and Regional Planning
  • Hannah Pruse, Computer and Information Science
  • Jaleel Reed, Environmental Studies
  • Amala Shetty, Counseling Psychology
  • Alec Smidt, Psychology
  • Kara Wang, Creative Writing
  • Ming Wen, Creative Writing
  • Rachel Widomski, Art
  • Catherine Woods, Counseling Psychology

OUS Sylff Fellowship for International Research

  • Farhad Bahram, Art
  • Audrey Medina, Counseling Psychology
  • Senyo Ofori-Parku, Communication and Society

Southeast Asian Studies Award

  • Mu-Lung Hsu, Anthropology
  • Intan Suwandi, Sociology

UO Doctoral Research Fellowship

  • Andrew Pokorny, Music
  • Sarah Praskievicz, Geography
  • Mi Zhao, History

UO Public Impact Fellowship

  • Lindsay Naylor, Geography
  • Geoff Ostrove, Communication and Society

UO and External Award Recipients

The Graduate School also provides financial support and/or coordination for a number of UO and external awards and honors. We congratulate the recipients of these as well.

Doris Duke Fellowship for the Promotion of Child Well-Being

  • Amanda Van Scoyoc, Psychology

Foreign Language and Area Studies Fellowship

  •  Ha Beom Kim, Anthropology

Fulbright Scholarship

  • Ngan Ta, International Studies

Center for Study of Women and Society Jane Grant Fellowship

  • Miriam Abelson, Sociology

Laurel Internships at the Jordan Schnitzer Museum of Art and the UO Museum of Natural and Cultural History

  • Helen Blackmore, Historic Preservation
  • Stephen Dobinrich, Community and Regional Planning
  • Carrie Morton, Arts Management
  • Nori Rice, Arts Management

National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship

  • Joshua Bahr, Biology
  • Ashley Bateman, Biology
  • Ann Greenaway, Chemistry
  • Laurel Hiebert, Biology
  • Lauren Kahn, Psychology
  • Alexander Kendall, Chemistry
  • Jordan Livingston, Psychology
  • John O’Connor, Anthropology
  • Hannah Pruse, Computer and Information Science
  • Jimena Santillan, Psychology
  • Andrew Vandegrift, Biology
  • Andrea Yocom, Physics

Oregon Humanities Center Graduate Dissertation Fellowship

  • Mary Ganster, English
  • Chet Lisiecki, Comparative Literature
  • Aaron Rodriguez, Philosophy

Wayne Morse  Center for Law and Politics Dissertation Fellowship

  • Gregory Liggett, Political Science
  • Jeremy Strickler, Political Science
Copyright © 2011-2017 University of Oregon. All rights Reserved. Eugene Oregon 97403.

UO prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, sex, national or ethnic origin, age, religion, marital status, disability, veteran status, sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expression in all programs, activities and employment practices as required by Title IX, other applicable laws, and policies. Retaliation is prohibited by UO policy. Questions may be referred to the Title IX Coordinator, Office of Affirmative Action and Equal Opportunity, or to the Office for Civil Rights. Contact information, related policies, and complaint procedures are listed on the statement of non-discrimination.